TL;DR
Reported medians at India-based proprietary trading firms sit between roughly ₹48 lakh and ₹1.11 crore in total annual compensation, depending on the firm and the job family. Front-office quantitative researchers and traders with five or more years of experience reach ₹2 crore and above, though most of that is discretionary bonus tied to desk profit and loss.
A fresher package at a top India firm typically runs ₹90 lakh to ₹1.3 crore in year one for quant research and trading, of which ₹40 lakh to ₹60 lakh is recurring base. Quant development and core engineering freshers land closer to ₹30 lakh to ₹55 lakh.
The crore-plus campus headlines, ₹4.3 crore and above, are almost always international postings in Hong Kong, Singapore or Amsterdam. They are not India salaries and should never be used to benchmark one.
Key points
- Intern stipends went vertical in 2026: a reported ₹60 lakh for a two-month stint at Quadeye, roughly four times the previous year.
- The underlying business got harder at the same time, with NSE derivatives turnover at a 17-month low in July 2026.
- Most of a senior package is discretionary, so the year-two number matters more than the headline.
- Campus crore-plus offers are mostly international postings, not India-based pay.
What changed in 2026
India's quant market entered 2026 with two facts pulling against each other, and anyone benchmarking a package needs to hold both.
The first is that pay for junior talent has gone vertical. Bloomberg reported in August 2026 that Gurugram-based Quadeye was offering interns ₹30 lakh a month, or ₹60 lakh for the two-month stint the industry runs, a fourfold jump on the previous year. Graviton Research Capital's intern package moved to about ₹50 lakh from roughly ₹16 lakh. IMC Trading doubled its package to ₹50 lakh and Optiver came in at ₹60 lakh. For comparison, that two-month stipend now exceeds the median annual salary of an IIM Ahmedabad postgraduate.
The second is that the underlying business got harder. Average daily notional turnover in NSE futures and options fell to a 17-month low in July 2026. A SEBI study published in August showed proprietary trading firms, high-frequency shops included, saw gross profit fall 3 per cent in the twelve months to March. Active derivatives traders dropped 18 per cent in FY26 to 8.75 million.
Those two facts are not a contradiction. They are the market telling you where the scarcity is. Firms are not bidding for talent because revenue is booming. They are bidding because the talent pool at the top of the distribution has not grown, because lateral hiring at junior and mid level is not producing candidates with enough depth, and because local firms are pushing into new asset classes and overseas books that need people now. Daniel Vaz of Aquis Search put the lateral problem plainly: global firms are not finding candidates with adequate depth for junior to mid-level roles, so they are training engineers from the ground up instead.
For candidates, this means the entry door is paying more than it ever has while the second and third year become less predictable. For employers, it means the campus premium is now a structural cost, not a one-season anomaly, and the retention risk sits at the two-to-four year mark where the guarantee has expired and the discretionary number has to do the work.
Read the components before you read the number
Most disagreement about HFT pay in India is not about the market. It is about people comparing different things and calling them all CTC. Separate these six before comparing two offers.
| Component | What it actually is |
|---|---|
| Base salary | Recurring fixed annual cash, the only number that repeats without condition. At Indian prop firms usually 35 to 55 per cent of a headline first-year package |
| Sign-on bonus | One-time, paid on joining or in tranches, frequently with a repayment clause inside 12 or 24 months. Inflates year one and disappears in year two |
| Minimum guaranteed bonus | Contractually committed variable pay, almost always for the first year only. Ask what replaces it afterwards |
| Discretionary bonus | Tied to desk, team or firm performance. Where the upside and the volatility both live. Ranges quoted at offer stage are indications, not commitments |
| Non-cash benefits | Meals, transport, insurance, offsites, relocation. Commonly ₹4 lakh to ₹6 lakh in Indian prop-firm offer letters, counted inside the headline CTC |
| Profit share or equity | Rare at Indian offices for junior roles, meaningful for senior researchers and PMs. Check instrument, vesting and clawback before valuing it at face |
The practical test: ask what the package looks like in year two if the desk performs at plan and you are neither promoted nor let go. For many crore-plus first-year offers in India, that answer is 30 to 45 per cent lower.
India compensation by role and experience
The bands below are for roles based in India, in total annual cash compensation including expected bonus. They are modelled from the platform data, reported offers and placement evidence set out in the methodology, and cross-read against what SYTalent sees in the market. Confidence tags show how much evidence sits behind each band.
| Role | Fresher (0 to 2 yrs) | Mid (2 to 5 yrs) | Senior (5 to 8 yrs) | Lead or PM (8+ yrs) | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quantitative researcher | ₹90 L to 1.3 Cr | ₹1.0 to 2.0 Cr | ₹2.0 to 5.0 Cr | ₹5 Cr+ | High |
| Quantitative trader | ₹90 L to 1.3 Cr | ₹1.0 to 2.2 Cr | ₹2.0 to 6.0 Cr | Formula-linked | Moderate |
| Quant developer (C++, strategy-adjacent) | ₹35 to 55 L | ₹55 L to 1.1 Cr | ₹1.0 to 2.0 Cr | ₹2.0 Cr+ | High |
| Low-latency or core systems engineer | ₹30 to 50 L | ₹50 to 90 L | ₹90 L to 1.6 Cr | ₹1.6 Cr+ | High |
| FPGA or hardware acceleration | ₹35 to 60 L | ₹70 L to 1.3 Cr | ₹1.3 to 2.5 Cr | ₹2.5 Cr+ | Indicative |
| Data or research infrastructure engineer | ₹25 to 45 L | ₹45 to 80 L | ₹80 L to 1.4 Cr | ₹1.4 Cr+ | Moderate |
| Trade operations or production SRE | ₹15 to 30 L | ₹30 to 60 L | ₹60 L to 1.1 Cr | ₹1.1 Cr+ | Moderate |
| Risk, compliance, middle office | ₹12 to 25 L | ₹25 to 50 L | ₹50 L to 1.0 Cr | ₹1.0 Cr+ | Indicative |
Ranges are modelled, not employer-published pay bands. Confidence key: High means multiple independent reported data points plus platform medians. Moderate means fewer public data points, with the band inferred from adjacent roles and mandate evidence. Indicative means thin public data, so treat it as a starting hypothesis and verify per firm.
Three things this table does not say. It does not say every firm pays across the whole band, because a Tier-1 global name in Gurugram and a domestic shop building its first quant desk are ten to fifteen lakh apart at the same level. It does not say the senior numbers are reliable annual income, because at that level the majority is discretionary. And it does not cover GIFT City or Singapore-booked roles, which are structured differently and covered below.
Firm-by-firm reported compensation
These are figures that third-party platforms publish for India-based roles, with the retrieval date attached. They are self-reported by employees and the sample sizes are small, so read them as a triangulation aid rather than a pay band.
| Firm | India base | Role | Reported median | Reported high | Source, last updated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quadeye | Gurugram | Quantitative researcher | ₹1.11 Cr | ₹1.93 Cr | Levels.fyi, 3 Aug 2026 |
| Quadeye | Gurugram | Software engineer | ₹48.0 L | ₹89.2 L | Levels.fyi, 3 Sep 2026 |
| Quadeye | Gurugram | All roles, salary range | ₹25 to 75 L | Glassdoor, Aug 2026, 175 salaries | |
| Graviton Research Capital | Gurugram | Quantitative researcher | ₹87.0 L | ₹1.72 Cr | Levels.fyi, 31 Mar 2026 |
| Graviton Research Capital | Gurugram | Software engineer | ₹81.4 L | ₹90.4 L | Levels.fyi, 18 Sep 2026, 22 reports |
| Graviton Research Capital | Gurugram | Quantitative researcher | ₹43.0 L avg | ₹1.20 Cr (90th pct) | Glassdoor, Mar 2026, 19 salaries |
| AlphaGrep Securities | Mumbai, Bengaluru | Software engineer | ₹71.3 L | ₹1.11 Cr | Levels.fyi, 5 Aug 2026 |
| AlphaGrep Securities | Bengaluru | Financial or quant analyst | ₹67.9 L | ₹1.51 Cr | Levels.fyi, 3 Sep 2026 |
| Tower Research Capital | Gurugram | Backend software engineer | ₹67.5 L | ₹1.20 Cr | Levels.fyi, 2026 |
| Tower Research Capital | Gurugram | Software engineer | ₹49.1 L | ₹82.3 L | Levels.fyi, 27 May 2026 |
| Tower Research Capital | Gurugram | All roles, salary range | ₹38 to 55 L | Glassdoor, Sep 2026, 230 salaries |
Platform-reported total compensation for India-based roles, retrieved 19 September 2026. Data attributed to Levels.fyi and Glassdoor respectively. Sample sizes are small and self-reported, so figures for the same role can differ between views. Corroborate any number that matters to a decision against a second source.
NK Securities Research, founded in 2011 by IIT Delhi graduates Faraz Khan and Sudhanshu Narang and running FPGA-based execution out of Gurugram with a Singapore subsidiary and a GIFT City branch, does not have a published platform median. Nor do several other India-based shops recruiting at the same level. Absence of platform data is not evidence of lower pay, it is evidence of a smaller headcount and a tighter culture around disclosure.
Freshers, interns and campus offers
This is where the largest numbers and the largest misreadings live.
Internship stipends, 2026 cycle
| Firm | Two-month stipend | Change on prior year |
|---|---|---|
| Quadeye | ₹60 L (₹30 L per month) | Roughly 4 times |
| Optiver | ₹60 L | Not stated |
| Graviton Research Capital | About ₹50 L | Up from about ₹16 L |
| IMC Trading | ₹50 L | Roughly doubled |
Source: Bloomberg, reported in Business Standard, 26 August 2026. Firms did not respond to requests for comment. Figures are attributed to people familiar with the matter, not to employer disclosure.
The crore-plus campus headlines, decoded
Every December, a set of numbers circulates that shapes how an entire graduating cohort thinks about its worth. Most of them are international postings, and several are not corroborated by any official placement release.
| Reported CTC | Firm | Institute | Role and posting | Season | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₹5.5 Cr | Jane Street | IIT Kanpur | Quantitative trader, international | 2024-25 | Widely republished, not corroborated by an official placement release. Treat as disputed |
| ₹4.3 Cr | Jane Street | IIT Madras | Quantitative trader, Hong Kong, via PPO | 2024-25 | Reported by Economic Times and Business Today, described as inclusive of salary, bonus and relocation |
| ₹3.67 Cr | Not disclosed | IIT Bombay | Highest international offer | 2024-25 | Institute-reported |
| ₹2.5 Cr | Optiver | IIT Hyderabad | Not stated | 2025-26 | Partial-season figure |
| ₹2.44 Cr | Not disclosed | IIT Kharagpur | Not stated | 2025-26 | Phase 1, provisional |
| ₹2.2 Cr | Da Vinci Derivatives | IIT Bombay | Amsterdam | 2024-25 | Media-reported |
| ₹1.68 Cr | Not disclosed | IIT Bombay | Highest domestic offer | 2024-25 | Institute-reported |
Compiled from institute placement reporting and national media coverage, September 2026. Several IITs, including Bombay, have stopped publishing single highest-package figures, so more recent peaks are harder to verify, not necessarily absent.
Set those against the base rate. The B.Tech median at the older IITs sits around ₹19 lakh to ₹21 lakh. In the 2024-25 season roughly 22 students at IIT Bombay, 9 at Kharagpur and 11 at Guwahati crossed ₹1 crore, and across all IITs the crore-plus count is commonly put at 50 to 100 students a year, mostly international. The ₹4.3 crore offer is about twenty times its institute's median, went to one person, and was a Hong Kong posting. It tells you almost nothing about what a quant job in Gurugram pays.
The honest framing for a 2027 candidate: an India-based front-office quant offer at a top firm is a ₹90 lakh to ₹1.3 crore first-year outcome, an engineering offer at the same firm is ₹30 lakh to ₹55 lakh, and the crore-plus international roles number in the low dozens nationally.
India against Singapore, Hong Kong and the global hubs
Indian rupee figures quoted for the same firm can describe wildly different jobs. Location determines the tax treatment, the cost base, the book you trade and, usually, the ceiling.
| Hub | Typical first-year front-office total | What drives the difference |
|---|---|---|
| India (Gurugram, Mumbai, Bengaluru) | ₹90 L to 1.3 Cr | Domestic cost base, large local derivatives book, deep graduate supply |
| GIFT City (IFSC) | Comparable to India, different structure | Tax-advantaged IFSC regime, growing as a base for international books. QRT received in-principle IFSCA approval for a GIFT City SEZ presence in 2026 |
| Singapore | ₹1.5 to 3.0 Cr equivalent | Regional hub premium, lower personal tax, APAC books |
| Hong Kong | ₹2.5 to 4.5 Cr equivalent | Where the headline Jane Street campus offers land. Higher cost of living, low tax |
| Amsterdam, London, Chicago, New York | ₹3 Cr+ equivalent | Firm headquarters, largest books, strongest profit-share structures |
Converted equivalents are indicative and exclude cost-of-living and tax adjustment. Use them to understand order of magnitude, not to compare take-home.
The regulatory overhang that employers are pricing in
No India compensation guide is honest without the SEBI question. In July 2025 the regulator passed an interim order against Jane Street alleging manipulative expiry-day index strategies, barred the firm from the market and impounded ₹4,843.57 crore. Jane Street deposited the amount into escrow, the trading restriction was lifted, and the firm gave an undertaking to cease the flagged practices while the wider probe continued. Exchanges were directed to keep its positions under close surveillance.
Two effects follow for hiring. First, compliance, surveillance and risk functions at Indian prop firms are being staffed more seriously than at any point in the last decade, which lifts the floor on a set of roles that used to be treated as back office. Second, firms are diversifying away from a single dependence on Indian equity derivatives, into other asset classes and overseas books, which increases demand for researchers and engineers who can work outside the domestic microstructure they were trained on. Both are compensation events, and neither shows up in a salary table.
How to compare two offers
- Split the CTC into six lines. Base, sign-on, guaranteed bonus, discretionary bonus range, non-cash benefits, any profit share. If the recruiter cannot provide the split, the number is not yet an offer.
- Ask for the year-two picture. What does the package look like when the guarantee lapses and the desk performs at plan?
- Read the clawback. Sign-on repayment windows of 12 to 24 months are standard and materially change the value of a headline number if you might move.
- Establish the booking location. India, GIFT City, Singapore or an overseas entity. This determines tax, notice period and what the currency figure actually means.
- Ask what the desk trades and how it is doing. At senior level, desk choice moves compensation more than firm choice.
- Check the notice period and non-compete. Three-month notice periods and garden leave are common in Indian prop firms and reduce your optionality more than most candidates expect.
For employers setting a 2026 budget
The band that breaks most hiring plans is not the fresher band, which is public and easy to match. It is the two-to-five year lateral, where supply is thinnest, the candidate has a live guarantee elsewhere, and a counter-offer is close to certain. Budget for a 25 to 40 per cent premium over internal parity at that level, or budget for a longer search.
Methodology and sources
Every figure on this page carries a source and a retrieval date. We separate three evidence classes and never merge them into a single average.
- Platform-reported data. Levels.fyi and Glassdoor, self-reported by employees, retrieved 19 September 2026. Sample sizes are stated where the platform publishes them.
- Reported journalism. Bloomberg via Business Standard on 2026 internship packages, Economic Times and Business Today on campus offers, Business Standard on the SEBI proceedings.
- Institute placement reporting. Official placement and NIRF figures where published, alongside placement reports carried by tier-one national media such as the Economic Times, Business Standard and Business Today, with peaks flagged as unverified where no institute release supports them.
- Practitioner and community reports. Discussion in candidate communities, including Reddit threads, alumni groups and campus forums, used as directional corroboration of offer structures and ranges. These informed our reading of the market; they are never used on their own to set a band.
Modelled bands in the role table are our own synthesis of the above, cross-read against live mandate evidence from SYTalent's HFT and quant search practice. They are estimates, not employer pay bands, and carry a confidence tag.
Community reports are read, but never published as market rates. Where a forum figure is striking, for example claims of ₹8 crore to ₹13 crore at seven years' experience, we treat it as a single observation of the upper tail rather than evidence of a median. That distinction is the difference between a compensation guide and a rumour aggregator.
Corrections. If you hold offer-letter evidence that contradicts anything here, write to piyush@sytalent.com. We correct on evidence and date every change.
Cite this page. SYTalent (2026). HFT and quant salaries in India 2026. Published 19 September 2026. https://sytalent.com/intelligence/hft-quant-salaries-india-2026/
Published 19 September 2026. Sources retrieved 19 September 2026. Next scheduled review January 2027.
Frequently asked questions
How much do HFT professionals earn in India in 2026?
Reported medians at India-based proprietary trading firms sit between roughly ₹48 lakh and ₹1.11 crore in total annual compensation, depending on firm and job family. Front-office quant researchers and traders with five or more years can reach ₹2 crore and above, most of it discretionary bonus tied to desk profit and loss.
What is the starting salary for a fresher at an HFT firm in India?
A front-office quant research or trading offer at a top India firm typically runs ₹90 lakh to ₹1.3 crore in year one, of which ₹40 lakh to ₹60 lakh is recurring base. Quant development and core engineering freshers usually land ₹30 lakh to ₹55 lakh.
Which HFT firm pays the most in India?
Platform-reported medians vary by role and sample, and no single figure settles it. Quadeye's reported quantitative researcher median is the highest in our table at ₹1.11 crore, but small samples and differing job families mean these should be triangulated rather than ranked.
Is the ₹4.3 crore Jane Street IIT package a real salary?
It was reported as a Hong Kong posting inclusive of salary, bonus and relocation, made through a pre-placement offer. It is an international package, not an India salary, and should not be used to benchmark a Gurugram or Mumbai role.
What do HFT interns earn in India?
Reported two-month stipends in the 2026 cycle were around ₹60 lakh at Quadeye and Optiver, about ₹50 lakh at Graviton Research Capital and ₹50 lakh at IMC Trading, according to Bloomberg reporting in August 2026.
How much of HFT compensation in India is guaranteed?
Usually 35 to 55 per cent of a first-year package is recurring base, with sign-on and any minimum guarantee applying only to the first year. From year two the discretionary component carries most of the number.
Do you need an IIT degree to work in HFT in India?
No. IIT, ISI, BITS, IISc, CMI, NIT and IIIT graduates are all hired, and firms increasingly run open assessments. Selection rests on probability, statistics and coding performance rather than institute alone.
How does HFT pay compare with big tech in India?
Entry-level HFT engineering offers broadly overlap with top big tech packages, while front-office quant research and trading offers sit well above them. The trade-off is volatility, since far more of HFT compensation is discretionary.
